Creation of template maps without link to mindjet task list

  • 1
  • Problem
  • Updated 4 years ago
When I create a mindmap template out of an existing map which is linked to a tasklist in mindjet the template keeps the links to the original task list. What is the best way to delete the connection to that mindjet list (since I will keep this list with the original map)?
Photo of C.S.

C.S.

  • 6 Posts
  • 2 Reply Likes

Posted 4 years ago

  • 1
Photo of aHa!Coaching

aHa!Coaching, Champion

  • 1192 Posts
  • 117 Reply Likes
I think what you want is possible by right-clicking on the parent of the task list and selecting 'Disconnect from Mindjet Tasks' (see screenshot below)

Is this is what you mean?


Photo of C.S.

C.S.

  • 6 Posts
  • 2 Reply Likes
Thanks Mathieu! This is what I mean, and I am aware of that option. But I am actually looking for a bulk action to do this for all tasks in a map in one move at once. It's a bit awkward to do this task by task, when you have 200 or more tasks in map/list :)

I tried to select several tasks and choose the right click action. But this just resulted in crashing the program :(

Christian
Photo of aHa!Coaching

aHa!Coaching, Champion

  • 1192 Posts
  • 117 Reply Likes
I just a quick test with a map with Mindjet Tasks topics in several levels, mixed with non-task topics, and was able to disconnect the topics using the conttext menu from Mindjet Tasks without crashing MindManager. I'm on version 14.2.

Did you try to copy all the topics to a new map and try to disconnect the topics from Mindjet Tasks there?
Photo of C.S.

C.S.

  • 6 Posts
  • 2 Reply Likes
I am on version  14.3.192. It actually seems to be a Windows XP issue. I just tried a multiple selection on a Windows 7 machine. There it works as you just describe. I finally need to get rid of this XP computer :) Thanks for your endeavors!
Photo of C.S.

C.S.

  • 6 Posts
  • 2 Reply Likes
In my mind it's still not logical that a template for new project keeps the tasks linked to an existing task list, though. If it's new the assignments, the dates etc. need to be changed anyway and shouldn't interfere with existing tasklists. Just my feeling ;)