Deleting task-info of Rollup but keeping task-info in subtasks

  • 1
  • Problem
  • Updated 7 months ago
Created a map with multiple branches.
Used subtasks under sub-tasks under sub-tasks.
Created task infos for deepest tasks, so that they appear in Gantt.
Made the head-task as a Rollup, so that it appears also in Gantt.
Realized that it is not possible to create Start-End conditions to rollup-tasks.

Problems in Map:
  • When deleting the task info of the rollup-task the task-info of the sub-tasks are deleted too.
  • When creating the task-info for the sub-tasks again, the rollup-task is automatically created again too.

How to prevent the auto-creation of the task-info of the head-task?
Deleting the head task, then creating a new and sorting the sub-tasks under it does not help
Photo of Uwe

Uwe

  • 8 Posts
  • 3 Reply Likes

Posted 7 months ago

  • 1
Photo of Sia

Sia, Official Rep

  • 275 Posts
  • 68 Reply Likes
Hi Uwe,

I might need more information about your issue, as I may misunderstand but...

When you make a task a roll-up task it gets task information from the sub tasks and you can't edit or delete the roll-up information that's why the text is grey compared to the subtasks in the example below.



If you want to control/edit the summary task details separately, don't check "Roll-up Tasks" then enter the details manually as below

Photo of Uwe

Uwe

  • 8 Posts
  • 3 Reply Likes
That's it. I haven't seen this little check box.
As in your example, I wanted to delete the task info of one "Task Category" nut the head task still had the box checked. So even when I deleted it and made a new one it appeared again.

Thank you Sia