How to automatically have my MindManager files show up in Mindjet Connect?

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 6 years ago
  • Answered
I thought that the mindjet Connect button that appears in my toolbar would allow me to have any file appear in Mindjet Connect. Indeed there appears to be links to do so but they are greyed out http://screencast.com/t/N3HhZnNoIEt7

What do I need to do to allow any file that I'm working on to show up in Mindjet Connect?
Photo of Peter Anthony Gales

Peter Anthony Gales

  • 4 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
  • frustrated

Posted 6 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Michael Deutch

Michael Deutch, Official Rep

  • 438 Posts
  • 75 Reply Likes
Peter, in the window menu, open the Connect window. From there, you can upload your maps into Connect.
Photo of Peter Anthony Gales

Peter Anthony Gales

  • 4 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Thanks. That works. But brings up a few questions:
What then is the purpose of the little Mindjet Connect button in the toolbar?
How do I keep the two files in sync?
Why should someone pay for Mindmanager for Mac when they can use Mindjet Connect?
Photo of Michael Deutch

Michael Deutch, Official Rep

  • 438 Posts
  • 75 Reply Likes
Once a file is in Connect, you can check it out and edit it offline. There is no need for duplicate copies, you're storing the master copy in Connect and checking it out when you want to make edits and checking it back in when you're done. Since you can share these maps with others via Connect, we use the check in / out method to allow you to make edits and prevent others from editing while you are working on the file. You can use your desktop with or without the internet, but Connect online is only available when you're online.
Photo of Peter Anthony Gales

Peter Anthony Gales

  • 4 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Michael.
Let's say I have one file that I've been using on mindmanager for mac. I discover mindjet connect (MC) and think this is a better place to keep this file in case I want to share it or something happens to my mac.

I first check it in - I get no feedback that anything is happening when I do this, but I see afterwards that the file appears in the mindjet connect window. My desktop version is still open.

What must I do with my original desktop version? Delete it and then check out my mindjet connect file? Somehow I have two versions of the same file in MC and I don't know how that happened.

Does my original desktop file become the checked out version automatically?

Appreciate if you could make this clearer for me. Thanks
Photo of Michael Deutch

Michael Deutch, Official Rep

  • 438 Posts
  • 75 Reply Likes
No worries, the workflow isn't perfected yet. We'll be fine-tuning this and making improvements in future releases.

If you store the map in Connect, you don't need to keep a local copy any longer. You may want one as a backup depending on how critical the data is. The original file doesn't become the checked out one. In the future, you can open it via MindManager or via links to it. I sometimes make a map of maps. Each topic links to a map that either lives in Connect or my dekstop. It becomes my dashboard.

Back to your question...the local file is now redundant. When you check out your maps from Connect, it'll store locally in a single place where Connect can retrieve it again.

Make sense?
Photo of Peter Gales

Peter Gales

  • 3 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Thanks Michael. Clearer but still not crystal. When I check out the file where is the checked out file stored/saved? And when I check it back in, what happens to it - the one on my local machine I mean?

What does the refresh button accomplish?

Seems a lot less complicated if I choose to work with MC exclusively in the future, but I guess the option to work offline on a checked out file is only possible if you have bought the mind manager app for your computer.

Appreciate your responses.
Photo of Peter Gales

Peter Gales

  • 3 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
And of course MC doesn't work with iPads.
Photo of Ary Velstra, Expert Trainer

Ary Velstra, Expert Trainer

  • 1233 Posts
  • 181 Reply Likes
There is a special free app for your iPad, that connects to MC

http://www.mindjet.com/products/mindm...
Photo of Michael Deutch

Michael Deutch, Official Rep

  • 438 Posts
  • 75 Reply Likes
Peter, when you check out a file, it is stored locally in a temporary folder for Mindjet Connect. You should access the files through MindManager. When you check it back in, I believe the local file stays cached on your machine. If you go offline, it should still be available for you (via MindManager).

The refresh button ensures you're looking at the latest status for all your files/folders. If you're in an account with a lot of activity, you can use it to see if anyone has checked out files since you last navigated or refreshed.

Finally, you can access Mindjet Connect for free using our iPad app as Ary mentioned.

Have a great day!
Photo of Peter Gales

Peter Gales

  • 3 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Thanks Michael. I will check out the app.
Photo of Colin Miller

Colin Miller

  • 3 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
I use MM9 for mac, both the Mindjet Connect Button and the 'share via inject connect' are greyed out so I can't use connect, even though I'm sign in all I want to do is upload a map.

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies.