Lock topics

  • 2
  • Idea
  • Updated 6 years ago
It would be great to have ability to “lock topics”, to prevent important areas of a template from being deleted or modified.

-Note from several customers
Photo of Ryan Rudnitsky

Ryan Rudnitsky

  • 20 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 6 years ago

  • 2
Photo of Mick Jones

Mick Jones

  • 89 Posts
  • 8 Reply Likes
I believe an Addin exists for that , from Olympic in the UK
http://www.olympic-limited.co.uk/opti...
Photo of Ryan Rudnitsky

Ryan Rudnitsky

  • 20 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
That's a great find! Thanks Mick. I'm curious to know if it work in Connect too. I just reached out to the company and we'll find out if it can.

There is also another request for this too. http://community.mindjet.com/mindjet/...
Photo of Mick Jones

Mick Jones

  • 89 Posts
  • 8 Reply Likes
I dont believe it will work on Connect web access, it is a 2012 add-in
Photo of Nigel Goult (Olympic & MIVAP)

Nigel Goult (Olympic & MIVAP)

  • 348 Posts
  • 135 Reply Likes
Hi,

The Topic Text Lock function of OPTi-Addins simply applies a ReadOnly attribute to the topic text of the selected topic.

It does not stop anyone from deleting the complete Topic (unless it is a Central Topic in which case it can't be deleted).

It works with any map it is applied to from MindManager 6 Pro upwards and the read only attribute is I believe upheld on the Mac.

It is NOT compatible with maps in Connect and the attribute is ignored when a map with locked Topic is opened.

This particular function of OPTi-Addins is one of the FREE functions that does not require and unlock code/purchase.

Hope that helps.

Regards

Nigel
Olympic Limited
OPTi-Addins FREE Addins for MindManager 2012
Photo of henley.cheryl

henley.cheryl

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes
In a collaborative environment with 10 people editing the same map, the possibility of losing data is huge. We are mostly concerned with inadvertent deletions. A cool solution would be to apply safety measures to topics in your mmap you'd like to "lock down". In other words, if a user inadvertently hits the delete key and is on a protected topic, it would ask, "are you sure?". We know there's an undo button but sometimes you don't even know you deleted something. When you have multiple monitors, you don't always know where your mouse is. For instance, you might think you're editing something in another window when you're actually making edits in Mindmgr. I have 3 monitors so this is not unusual.

This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled
Add protection levels to map topics.