Read only when copying maps to someone else...how can I change this?

  • 1
  • Problem
  • Updated 5 years ago
  • Solved
Trying to transfer a bunch of mindmaps to a colleague who has taken over my job. When I copy the maps to his computer, he can only open them as read only files...no way to edit them...what gives?
Photo of John

John

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 5 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Michael Deutch

Michael Deutch, Official Rep

  • 438 Posts
  • 75 Reply Likes
Does he have an active license? How are you transferring the files?
Photo of John

John

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
My company has a company wide license for Mindmanager 12 which is installed on all company issued computers. I have a license for mindmanager 12 on my personal laptop which is where I have been working on both private and business mind maps for years. I copied the relevant mindmaps from my private laptop to a usb stick and then transferred them to my company computer as a test. They are all marked "read-only" when I do this. Some one at Mindjet suggested I email the files...I tried this with the same results.
Photo of aHa!Coaching

aHa!Coaching, Champion

  • 1192 Posts
  • 115 Reply Likes
Could you check the properties of each file using Windows Exlorer or some other file manager? It might be that the read-only bit is set on file system level instead of something happening within the MindManager software?
Photo of Marian Kocmanek

Marian Kocmanek, Official Rep

  • 364 Posts
  • 64 Reply Likes
John,

My colleague in Technical Support mentioned he worked with you and found that this issue was due to MindManager 2012 not being licensed. I will mark this issue as resolved on this thread but should you need any additional assistance, please reply to the last email for Mindjet Case 00300884 or call us at 415-229-4200.

Thanks,
-Marian