sharing question

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 5 years ago
I saved a file in Mindjet files on the cloud. I shared the file with a contact. Then, I made two revisions to the file I shared. Mindjet assigned a (2) (2) to the filename. I made further revisions and saved the file. Mindjet assigned a (2) (2) (1) to the filename. I made further revisions and saved the file. Mindjet assigned a )2) (2) (1) (1) to the file name. Are these VERSIONS? Will my shared contact open the latest saved filename, even thought I shared the first saved filename?

Thanks,

Jonathan Smith
Photo of jonathan smith

jonathan smith

  • 4 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 5 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Andrew Wilcox

Andrew Wilcox, Champion

  • 1033 Posts
  • 177 Reply Likes
Hi Jonathan

I think your contact will open the original.

If the folder is shared with them they will see the other files if they open the folder.

I think what is happening is that when you save a file, its saving a copy of the file with an automatically generated name because it does not want to overwrite the original. Mindjet Web automatically saves a file every time you edit it and you have an internet connection.

There is a version tool in Mindjet Web. It would be best to use this.
Photo of Andrew Wilcox

Andrew Wilcox, Champion

  • 1033 Posts
  • 177 Reply Likes
You can create versions in the Library view.

Right click the file name or click the triangle next file name and click New Version.
Photo of Andrew Wilcox

Andrew Wilcox, Champion

  • 1033 Posts
  • 177 Reply Likes
The saving new file names could also be caused by the file being checked out in another application e.g. your desktop or mobile app.

Your contact can also check out the map.
Photo of jonathan smith

jonathan smith

  • 4 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Thanks Andrew.

Jonathan